Page 1 of 1

Mac1 Marauder in new James Linthicum stock-hunts p. dogs

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:39 am
by VarmintAir

We had a great day today. On the road at 04:30. Pulled through the cattle ranch gate right at 05:45. I had hoped to get there and sight the Marauder in with close to zero wind. Didn't happen. When I got to the dog town and stepped out of my vehicle, it was already starting to blow. Nothing horrible, but still 3 to 5 miles an hour. It would get much worse.

I didn't wast any time getting my gear set up. The conditions don't improve with time. The question in a prairie dog town isn't, is it going to be windy, but just how windy will it be today.

I set up my shooting stand, got out the Marauder, put the Harris Bipod on her, dug out my rear bag and pellets, and put them on the stand. Next I put out my portable target holder at 55 yards. Loaded a mag with 18.1 grain JSB's, and started sighting her in.

I started shooting on a large 10 inch Shoot-N-C bull so I could easily spot the pellet impacts. She was shooting several inches high and right. I made several scope adjustments before I had her centered where I wanted. I moved up to a black dot and fired five for effect. They dropped into a half inch. I'm very pleased, but not surprised, considering she was stacking the same pellets at 20 yards indoors.

Next I put one of the Shoot-N-C prairie chuck targets out at 55 yards and dropped five shots onto it. I love these targets, instant feedback, and they do a very good job of replicating the size of a typical adult prairie dog. The five went into just a hair over a half inch.