My road to regulation - warning - long post

DIY Modifications to the Benjamin Marauder, like Depingers, bolt handles, etc.
Mod parts offered for sale should be posted in the AFTERMARKET section.

My road to regulation - warning - long post

Postby curlyjim » Mon Dec 15, 2014 3:05 pm

Hello everyone. I've been on the Yellow for a short while now, but just registered for this site a few days ago.

I've been shooting 10m air pistol for a couple of years, but started shooting air rifles late last spring. Mostly I shoot powder guns, but since I can shoot air guns up to 40 yards in my back yard, it's really nice to just step outside and do some shooting. My interests are mostly in target and field target, although there are no field target matches around where I live (SW Utah) that I know of.

I have a gen 2 Marauder in .177 that I've been tinkering with for several months. Boy, there is a lot to learn about air guns. I got it shooting pretty well using both the A-team method and the bStaley approach, but was still curious about how it would do with a regulator. There is a lot of info on this site about installing regulators, but a lot of it involves machining valves and otherwise permanently altering the gun. I wanted to see how much performance I could get without doing anything that was irreversible.

So, I started a new project to put a regulator in my Marauder without doing anything that wasn't reversible. I thought I'd post what I accomplished in case others are thinking along the same lines.

My goals were:
1) maintain 16 to 17 fpe power level
2) increase the number of shots per fill
3) decrease the velocity spread across a shot string (previously 25 to 30 fps)
4) maintain or improve accuracy