Marauder and FT Competitions

This area is dedicated to the .177 caliber Benjamin Marauder by Crosman.

Marauder and FT Competitions

Postby bob7346 on Fri Oct 22, 2010 8:01 pm

Just read the results on the Nationals and was very surprised to see very few Marauders listed. Other than the A team, there was only two entrants in the Hunter class. With the groupings I see pictures of, and reports of on this forum, I would have thought that there would have been many more Marauder shooters listed.

I'm new to this airgun thing, and with continual practice am getting better each day. I compete in all the regional events, but so far have been basically at the bottom of the group in the Hunter class. Last month was due to two rookie mistakes on my part of course.

Has anyone else been competing in Regional or local orginized events? How have you been doing? What kind of scores have you posted? Any tips or secrets that I might have missed or can use in the Hunter class?

If you live in Texas, you should attend a shoot or two at the Yega site in Summerville. It is a gorgeous place, that is ran well, and has very friendly people that has been doing this for years, and really helpful.

I plan on entering the Republic of Texas Championship come spring time which will be my first big event (State Championship). I know I have a long way to go to be compediative, but I've got 5 more months to practice.

Bob
bob7346

Re: Marauder and FT Competitions

Postby spysir on Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:01 am

Bob,
You WILL see more Marauders in FT in the future, guaranteed.
Mainly it is just such a new rifle. Most FT shooters already have an EV2 or such and if you already have a bucket full of money invested you will use what you already have.
Here is a quote from a champion FT shooter " the Marauder is 90% of what an EV2 is" that is a pretty good endorsement. I would have to believe the missing 10% is the stock, the factory unit just isnt all that.