Page 1 of 1

trouble with psi affecting accuracy

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 8:12 pm
by pb95
i have a .22 cal marauder that i recently purchased. I am having some issues regarding the fill pressure affecting my accuracy. I cannot get my gun to group well over about 2100 psi. It would be fine for target shooting, but i intend to hunt with my marauder. I am shooting crosman premier 14.3gr pellets. I am concerned with the knock-down power of low pressures and need to tune it to about 2800psi or so to be satisfactory for my preferences. I have no previous experience with PCP's and i am not exactly sure how to tune my rifle to group well at higher pressures. It looks like i am patterning a shotgun at 40 yards when i get up to about 2400 psi. I have lots of experience with firearms and i am confident in my shooting skills, so i am sure it is an issue with the gun. The only thing i know to do is tweak the velocity a bit, but higher velocities supposedly shoot worse groupings. I greatly appreciate any recommendations or tips on tuning my mrod to higher fill pressures.

Thanks,
Peyton

Re: trouble with psi affecting accuracy

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:46 am
by Artilheiro
I advise you to use heavy pellets such as Beeman Kodiack (21.4gr), H & N Barracuda (21gr) or JSB Heavy (18.1gr). Try to adjust your gun so that it has a speed of at least 280m/seg (919 ft / s) with JSB Heavy. To obtain this rate you should charge at least 2600/2500psi and then to increase (clockwise) to progressively load the hammer spring. For this setting, it is essential to use a chronograph. Good luck.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 6:23 am
by Lammy1000
What are your current settings?

I agree w/above poster...turn the spring tension to ~4 turns in and shoot it.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:22 am
by Supercharged86